Truth-Saves
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

St. Paul & Jesus

4 posters

Go down

St. Paul & Jesus Empty St. Paul & Jesus

Post  DavidR Sun Jan 24, 2010 8:18 pm

I'm a newbie to Truth Saves and the various formus and, as a skeptic, I'm most glad to have found it. I'm anxious to peruse the many topics I found on the Home page.

I have heard that Paul seems to know nothing of Jesus' life other than Jesus' death and resurrection. Does Paul mention any of Jesus' miracles or seem to have knowledge that Jesus (supposedly) did miracles. Is there any evidence that Paul knows of the teachings of Jesus such as the sermon on the mount, various parables, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help.

David R

DavidR

Back to top Go down

St. Paul & Jesus Empty Re: St. Paul & Jesus

Post  SyntheticSylence Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:25 am

I'm not much of a textual/historical guy, I'm more a theology guy. But I can tell you what I've heard.

He does not mention the miracles of Jesus outside of the resurrection (which is the most important miracle). But he does quote Jesus from time to time. For instance, when talking about the Lord's Supper he says the "this is my body, this is my blood" bit. What's important to keep in mind is that Paul was not writing to tell people about this Jesus guy like the Gospels were. He was not writing because he thought his letters would be compiled into Scripture. He wrote to troubleshoot specific problems in various communities.

So we should not expect a fully formed theology from a single document, in fact they all show an evolution of thought. And he's not going to bring up things that don't need to be brought up. For example, he is concerned with the Church in Corinth because of their sexual impropriety. What miracle of Jesus is he going to bring up? What saying of Jesus have they not already heard? He uses other tactics.

Hope that helps!
SyntheticSylence
SyntheticSylence

Back to top Go down